Early Experiences

EXPOSURE THERAPY

As I stated in the first entry of this blog, and reiterated in “Cindy & Me”, I did not intend to ever go to art school. I never even thought of myself as particularly “arty”. I had been raised around it; my mother was and remains a practicing visual artist. From a young age, I was modeling for her, spending afternoons on her studio floor, and being taken to galleries and museums. I even had a little game of “art lotto”, which taught me to memorize the creators and titles of various classical paintings and sculptures. Art was an integrated part of my life, and so it never felt special or cultured or enlightening or whatever it is “supposed” to be for people. As a result, I don’t remember many important moments in the early part of my life concerning art, things that may have shaped me, or set me…

View original post 864 more words

Leave a Reply

