Trad & Mod

scribblah

I’ve spent the best part of the last year working on a large-ish scale, mostly A1 or A0 drawings and monotypes, but the past couple of months I’ve been enjoying these tiny, A6, ink drawings in the life drawing group I attend. I’m using a traditional dip pen and Indian ink onto handmade paper, bought from the Tate gallery shop, coloured with splatters of sepia ink. I’m adding tone to the drawings with black, sanguine and white conte crayon. I like this pose, it looks very modern and contrasts well, in my opinion, with the traditional drawing techniques. This was a one-hour pose [great, dedicated model] and I worked directly onto the paper with pen – I guess I’m a masochist 🙂

View original post

Leave a Reply

